PDA

View Full Version : Shawn Matthews vs. Chris McMillan

jediPREZ
02-11-04, 04:01 AM
STIPULATION: Ladder Match

Mister Dread
02-12-04, 11:49 AM
::FADEIN on the rickety, sagging ring at the Basham-Schultz Wrestling Academy, the dim and unsavory haunt of ”The Wolf” Chris McMillan. McMillan sits perched on the top turnbuckle, attired as usual in jeans, harness boots, and a faded Dogs of War t-shirt. Leaning against the ring ropes is one of NFW’s “mechanical” ladders::

THE WOLF: When I first got started in this business nearly a decade ago, I didn’t know what I was doing. Oh sure, I was trained. Memphis style, man. Old-school. The problem with that is when you’re 5’8”, and you weigh about 190 pounds with your boots on, good ol’ Memphis rasslin’ isn’t going to get you anywhere. When I started training in lucha and puro, I found something that worked for me. I found something that really got the crowd on their feet.

THE WOLF: When you’re young, when you’re green, I guess you’ll do just about anything to get noticed. Look at DC Stratton. Hell, look at me. I started out doing the most insane s[beep]t I could think of, the most brutal and dangerous things my sick little head could churn out in an effort to just get noticed. Do you know what happened? Sure, I got a little attention. I got a few contracts, wrestled a few big matches. But you know what else? I also got a pair of blown knees, a shattered left leg, seven concussions, a total of over a thousand stitches, a grand total of 9 months in physical therapy, and a stay in the nuthouse for my trouble.

THE WOLF: Stick with what works, I thought. Dance with the one that brought you. But we all know what happens with that, don’t we? How many guys build a successful career out of hardcore? Plenty. And in ten or fifteen years they’re so crippled up that they can hardly get out of bed in the morning, but they’re gonna wrestle hardcore because they need the paycheck. What else have they got? Not a damn thing.